August 27, 2017

In early May, a group of Blues music industry professionals including music critics, journalists, festival promoters, music venue managers, producers, musicians and other Blues music industry professionals nominated the best in Blues music in twelve categories. Blues Blast Magazine subscribers began voting to determine the winners on July 1 with only one vote per person allowed. Congratulations to the winners and all the nominees!

The Blues Blast Music Awards are presented by Blues Blast Magazine, the largest FREE weekly internet Blues magazine with over 37,000 Blues fan subscribers located in all 50 states and in more than 90 countries.

2017 Blues Blast Music Award Nominees
Winners in bold and underlined

Contemporary Blues Album

  • Samantha Fish – Chills & Fever

  • Monster Mike Welch & Michael Ledbetter – Right Place Right Time

  • Ronnie Baker Brooks – Times Have Changed

  • Kilborn Alley Blues Band – The Tolono Tapes

  • John Mayall – Talk About That

  • Coco Montoya – Hard Trut...

July 10, 2017

The 2017 Blues Blast Music Awards nominees were announced recently. Our nominators were amazed at the number of artists and labels who submitted their recordings to the nominators. It was a record year for the number of submissions with a plethora of great Blues music recordings.

A common complaint from the nominators this year was that the process of selecting the nominees was very difficult because of so many high quality releases. Many expressed frustration that after they were done submitting their nominations this year there were many artist they wanted to nominate but there were no available slots for nominees in many categories.

So this year in recognition of this great blessing of wonderful Blues music, we are announcing our first ever “BBMA Honorable Mentions” to recognize some of the excellent artist releases that did not get nominated that could have in a less bountiful year

So here they are:

2017 Blues Blast Music Awards - Honorable Mentions

Contemporary Blues Album

  • Eight O'F...

September 28, 2015

2015 Nominees

Winners denoted with Bold Font, Underlined**

Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • Eddy “The Chief” Clearwater **

  • Jay Sieleman **


Contemporary Blues Album

  • Linsey Alexander – Come Back Baby

  • Altered Five Blues Band – Cryin’ Mercy

  • Dave Specter – Message In Blue

  • Elvin Bishop – Can’t Even Do Wrong Right **

  • Jarekus Singleton – Refuse To Lose

  • Selwyn Birchwood – Don’t Call No Ambulance


Traditional Blues Album

  • Mud Morganfield & Kim Wilson – For Pops (A Tribute to Muddy Waters) **

  • Andy T – Nick Nixon Band – Livin’ It Up

  • Sugar Ray & The Bluetones – Living Tear to Tear

  • Mississippi Heat – Warning Shot

  • Lynwood Slim – Hard To Kill

  • The Cash Box Kings – Holding Court


Soul Blues Album

  • D.A. Foster – The Real Thing

  • Missy Andersen -  In the Moment

  • Otis Clay & Johnny Rawls – Soul Brothers **

  • Robin McKelle & the Flytones – Heart Of Memphis

  • Tad Robinson – Day Into Night

  • Slam Allen – Feel These Blues



Please reload

Featured Posts

Intrepid Artists International booking agency celebrates 25 years

November 19, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Twitter Classic
  • YouTube Classic
  • Facebook Classic