37th Blues Music Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2016 Blues Music Awards Winners!

1. Acoustic Album: The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard – Duke Robillard 2. Acoustic Artist: Doug MacLeod 3. Album: Born to Play Guitar – Buddy Guy 4. B.B. King Entertainer: Victor Wainwright 5. Band: Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots 6. Best New Artist Album: The Mississippi Blues Child – Mr. Sipp 7. Contemporary Blues Album: Born to Play Guitar – Buddy Guy 8. Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Shemekia Copeland 9. Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Joe Louis Walker 10. Historical: Soul & Swagger: Buzzin’ the Blues by Slim Harpo (Bear Family Records) 11. Instrumentalist-Bass : Lisa Mann 12. Instrumentalist-Drums: Cedric Burnside 13. Instrumentalist-Guitar: Sonny Landreth 14. Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Kim Wilson 15. Instrumentalist-Horn: Terry Hanck 16. Koko Taylor Award: Ruthie Foster 17. Pinetop Perkins Piano Player: Allen Toussaint 18. Rock Blues Album: Battle Scars – Walter Trout 19. Song: “Gonna Live Again” written and performed by Walter Trout 20. Soul Blues Album: This Time for Real – Billy Price & Otis Clay 21. Soul Blues Female Artist: Bettye LaVette 22. Soul Blues Male Artist: Otis Clay 23. Traditional Blues Album: Descendants of Hill Country – Cedric Burnside Project 24. Traditional Blues Male Artist: John Primer

Recent Posts
Featured Posts